Contact And Information

Biography

Carla is a graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia (Mizzou) with a degree in Journalism.  She started her career in Marketing, and eventually found her way into Sales in the promotional products world.  Before joining Brand Fuel, she had her own distributorship for over 17 years.  She enjoys developing custom products as well as cool branded merch and apparel programs for her customers.

She lives in a small town near St. Louis and is happily married to her husband Greg. They enjoy many adventures together, including traveling, boating, camping (glamping), hanging out with friends and family, or just cooking a great meal and listening to music.

Carla enjoys “girls’ day” with her daughter Sydney (and sister and niece) as often as possible.  This can include anything from a trip to the art museum and eating at one of the great restaurants in St. Louis to hanging out in sweats and having their own paint and sips.  Their time together usually includes singing, dancing, and other tomfoolery, although not always at the appropriate time or place.

Her son Matthew is one of the lights of her life, but as a teenager his focus really isn’t on his mom or dad, so they will take whatever time with him that they can get!  Sometimes that means riding with him to a family outing in his loud, lifted truck with colored lights in the wheel wells that glow on the street, listening to either old country or rap on his stereo system that is so loud that you can feel the bass thumping in your stomach.  Conversations with him usually include music and the next expensive option he wants to buy for his truck.

Causes You Support: St. Judes, Stray Rescue of St. Louis, Humane Society, Tim Tebow Foundation against Human Trafficking

Favorite Sports Teams: St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Blues, Kansas City Chiefs

Pet Peeves: Trash cans without liners

Favorite Quote: “Have fun and be careful!” – every mom in America.  (It really applies to anything in life!)

Favorite Promotional Product and Why: Double wall insulated drinkware.  I have water or tea in my cup or mug all day, and it keeps my drink hot or cold, and doesn’t sweat

Childhood Hero: My dad, Gary Thompson.  There was nothing he couldn’t do (except cook).  He is still my hero in adulthood as well (but he still can’t cook).

Favorite Bands: Sammy Hagar, Def Leppard, Gun N’ Roses, Led Zeppelin, Queen, Journey, Prince – way too many to mention, but these are the first that come to mind.  You can’t tell by my answers, but I also love music that was made after I was in high school (😂)!

Awards: Outstanding Student in Journalism (in college), National Association of Women Business Owners Volunteer of the Year.

What I want to be when I grow up: I would love to paint and write poetry by the sea or in a cabin in the mountains.

What I do when no one is looking: I sing whether anybody is looking or not, but if there are people around the music must be really loud!  Singing is often accompanied by dancing, especially when in the kitchen cooking.  Nobody needs to see that though, believe me!

Favorite Book: Little Women

Favorite Artist: Kandinsky

Favorite Song: This changes constantly!  Two songs by Chris Stapleton, Cold and Whiskey Sunrise, are a couple of my current favorites. 

Favorite Place to Travel: Currently Jamaica, but always searching for a new favorite!

My Superpower: Resiliency

Favorite Condiment: Honey mustard

Your dinner guest choice (dead or alive): I would love the chance to have dinner with my grandma again. 

Celebrity Crush: Gal Gadot (come on, she’s Wonder Woman!)